›mcsj› is a multilingual, peer-reviewed, academic open-access journal without author fees being published by the Karl Franzens University Graz (Austria) in the form of a yearbook.

It has evolved from the international trans-disciplinary platform Mobile Culture Studies (MCS), active until 2014. The annual journal, with alternating key subjects and guest editors, aims to publish original articles from research at the forefront of the trans-disciplinary field of mobilities.

›mcsj› is grounded in the humanities, whilst maintaining a close dialogue both with the social and technical sciences and the artistic field.

Read more in the About section.

 

 

 

 

 

Contact

University of Graz

Attemsgasse 25/I, 8010 Graz, Austria

 

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Johanna Rolshoven

+43 (0)316 380 - 2584

johanna.rolshoven(at)uni-graz.at

 

 

University of Southampton

Avenue Campus, Highfield, Southampton

SO17 1BF, United Kingdom

 

Professor Joachim Schlör

+44 (0)23 8059 - 2232

J.Schloer(at)soton.ac.uk

Hosted by

Indexed in

Call for Papers 03/2017

Atmospheres and mobilities

Read more in the Calls section.

 

Volume 2: Forced Mobilities, New Moorings

The events of 2015 that shook people in the Middle East and Africa significantly affected Europe. They provoked political debate, and they are challenging western societies and the cultural and social sciences. The second issue of Mobile Culture Studies. The Journal (›mcsj›) addresses forced mobilities and new moorings as seen in current ethnographic studies. We investigate what these unsettling and enriching mobilities—from large-scale to individual movements—entail for a culture beyond national boundaries, and for actors, lifeworlds, institutions, structures, ideologies, and worldviews.

The contributions in this second issue of ›mcsj› follow up on existing fields of study, they unlock new topics and check how definitions and methodological approaches account for recent developments.

Our journal continues to encourage multilingual and international contributions. Different regions offer insights into different kinds of mobilities in different historical times. However, they share the passion of connecting the diverse perspectives of mobile actors and the multiplicity of structural frameworks: to consider events, actions, and emotions along with discourses, and to correlate political structures with historical attitudes and concepts. Apart from conventional texts, this issue also includes sound and video items that transcend the voicelessness seen in many unlikely and illegitimate migratory incidents.

›mcsj› ist ein vielsprachiges akademisches Open Access Journal mit Peer Review. Es verrechnet keine Autorengebühren und wird von der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz in Form eines Jahrbuches herausgegeben.

Das Journal hat sich aus der internationalen transdisziplinären Plattform Mobile Culture Studies entwickelt, die bis 2014 betrieben wurde. Als Jahrbuch wird es von wechselnden GastherausgeberInnen mit unterschiedlichen Hauptthemen realisiert. Es publiziert Originalartikel aus dem transdisziplinären Forschungsfeld der Mobile Culture Studies.

›mcsj› kommt aus dem geisteswissenschaftlichen Bereich, unterhält aber enge Beziehungen zu den Sozialwissenschaften, zu Technik und Kunst.

Lesen Sie mehr im Bereich Über mcsj.

 

 

 

 

Kontakt

Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Attemsgasse 25/I, 8010 Graz, Österreich

 

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Johanna Rolshoven

+43 (0)316 380 - 2584

johanna.rolshoven(at)uni-graz.at

 

 

University of Southampton

Avenue Campus, Highfield, Southampton

SO17 1BF, United Kingdom

 

Professor Joachim Schlör

+44 (0)23 8059 - 2232

J.Schloer(at)soton.ac.uk

Hosted by

Indexiert in

Call for Papers 03/2017

Atmosphären und Mobilität

Mehr dazu unter Calls

 

Volume 2: Forced Mobilities, New Moorings

Die Vehemenz, mit der die Kriegs- und Fluchtereignisse im Mittleren Osten und Afrika 2015 nach Europa gewirkt haben, stößt Auseinandersetzungen an, die die Gesellschaft und die Gesellschaftswissenschaften herausfordern. Diesem Thema ist die zweite Ausgabe von “Mobile Culture Studies. The Journal” (›mcsj›) gewidmet: Es geht um erzwungene Bewegungen und neue Ankerplätze und ihre Erschließung über aktuelle ethnographische Forschungen. ›mcsj› 2 fragt nach den verstörenden und bereichernden Auswirkungen der großmaßstäblichen ebenso wie der individuellen Mobilitäten für eine sich transnationalisierende Kultur, für Akteure, Lebenswelten, Institutionen, Strukturen, Ideologien und Weltsichten. Die vorliegenden Beiträge knüpfen an bestehende Forschungsfelder an, öffnen neue thematische Fenster und überprüfen Begriffe und Methoden darauf hin, ob sie den Entwicklungen Rechnung tragen.

Gemäß ihrem Anspruch auf Vielsprachigkeit vereint diese Ausgabe Beiträge aus verschiedenen Ländern, die unterschiedliche Formen kultureller Mobilitäten in den Blick nehmen. Gemeinsam ist ihnen die Verknüpfung akteursspezifischer Perspektiven mit strukturellen Parametern: Ereignisse, Handlungen und Emotionen mit Diskursen zusammen zu denken, mit politischen Strukturen und historisch gewachsenen Dispositionen und Figurationen. Die Ausgabe geht über reine Wortbeiträge hinaus und bettet Ton- und Videodokumente ein – kreative Auseinandersetzungen, die auf die Begrenztheit des sprachlichen Ausdrucks angesichts der Unwahrscheinlichkeit und Unbotmäßigkeit vieler konkreter Geschehnisse im Kontext von Fluchtmigrationen verweisen.